Kathleen Esquibel Receives Oakley Smith Award

Kathleen EsquibelDr. Kathleen Esquibel received the Oakley Smith Award in February of 2019. Dr. Esquibel achieved this honor during her internship at Southwest University of Naprapathic Medicine (SUNM). Oakley Smith was the founder of Naprapathy. This is a manual art of healing which requires hands-on manipulation of fascia (soft tissue) and is an alternative to the use of opioids.

Kathleen grew up in Carlsbad, NM. Her favorite subjects in high school were AP Biology and Spanish. She says she “loved” her science classes and took all the science classes that were available to her, including AP Chemistry.

Ms. Esquibel was applying to medical school when she was “presented with an opportunity to shadow a class taught by Dr. Beau Hightower.” This class had a profound effect on Kathleen, and she realized she could follow her passion of using nutrition and interactions with patients to make a difference in their lives.

When asked what she liked best about being an SUNM student, Kathleen said it was working in the clinic (Naprapathic Medicine of New Mexico). She believes she learned something new every day in the clinic. Her classmates shared their own techniques regarding the interactions of different muscles and tissues. She states that the work in the clinic helped her solve issues with a variety of patients. Her favorite class at SUNM was Principles of Rehabilitation. She believes this class taught her how to use her hands and how to test for different issues. The class also taught her what her strengths and weaknesses are and mostly how to help patients in the clinic.

Dr. Esquibel will be joining Elite OSM, a sports medicine clinic owned by Dr. Beau Hightower who is also a graduate of SUNM.

Kathleen is the first recipient of the Oakley Smith Award and she says she is extremely honored to receive the award. Ms. Esquibel would like to open a small business working with patients on multiple levels, using Naprapathic treatments, nutrition and training.

Congratulations to Dr. Kathleen Esquibel for achieving this honor and becoming one of seventeen students who have graduated from Southwest University of Naprapathic Medicine.

Alicia Martinez

Christianna Clow

Lydia Trusso

Lydia Trusso

Dr. Travis Mason

Dr. Travis Mason

Dr. Joseph Fraley

Skip to content
Malcare WordPress Security